Sunday, October 24, 2010

Rajni...is he really that good?


Hi All,

I have been off this space for quite some time now. It’s the usual suspect which is to blame...work. During my absence from blogosphere, Mr Rajni seems to have scorched the box office with this latest release Endhiran(Robot in Hindi & Telugu). Mr Rajni and Endhiran seem to be ubiquitous... the internet, TV, newspaper and everywhere else. We have fans going out of the way to welcome the favourite star’s movie to the big screens, we have the media that has gone on an overdrive to promote the movie and when there is so much hype how could the internet be any far behind.


I don’t really want to go into the merits or demerits of such fanatic fan following and media coverage for an ageing ‘super star’ and his movies which can be best described as contorted sci-fi action films sprinkled with female subordination and a good dose of Indian masala. In this post, I am more concerned about the demi - god status that has been accorded to Rajni and why he might not deserve that. Now let me just present the facts as they are and explain why I (and probably many others) feel this way about Mr Rajni.


Let’s accept it; Mr Rajni is not the best of actors. Rajni is high on style but not equally loaded on substance. His dialogue delivery is still poor and his diction is downright bad, this after spending more than 3 decades in the Tamil film industry! His comedy tracks are rather monotonous, revolving around slithering snakes and wandering ghosts. His versatility too is in question. For the past decade or so, Mr Rajni could only been seen acting in one genre, commercial mass movies. Minus his style and Mr Rajni is nobody. Rajni will soon find himself getting a good run for his money with loads of teenagers, who are just as good in delivering style, entering the movie scene these days.


Now let’s get down to Mr Rajni as an individual. Be it regional loyalties or his secular identity, Rajni always seems to be in a state of confusion and inaction. Rajni keeps harping about how he will forever be grateful to Tamil Nadu and her people for his current status and fame but has nothing much on record to prove his gratefulness other than the odd charities run by him and his fans. With his influence and clout, Rajni could easily been a harbinger of change to the society he is living in but choose to take the beaten path by appealing to the crass and mediocre. His films usually have ‘arrogant female characters’ whom he ‘tames’ and eventually manages to make them fall at his feet. Mr Rajni has only recently moved away from pandering to male chauvinists after sensing the poor reception to such silly & childish tendencies.


They say charity begins at home but that’s not the case with Rajni. Mr Rajni’s most controversial brush with women’s rights came when infamously proclaimed that ‘more the girls stay in the house, the better while it is the reverse for the boys’. The last time I checked, Mr Rajni had two extremely successful and enterprising daughters who obviously could not have ‘stayed at home’ as their father seems to prescribe for the rest of the population. Now, let me be clear here. Rajni is free to bring up his daughters the way he likes it but at the same time he has to preach what he practices.


It is a no brainer that Rajni has thousands, if not lakhs, of fans belonging to the minority community. But he mercilessly broke their hearts when he visited and received the ‘blessings’ [read political patronage] from the leader of a political outfit which has often openly professed its hatred to select communities and rejected the idea of India as a secular society. Again, Mr Rajni is free to visit whoever he wants but he cannot act as an angel and at the same time have dinner with the devil.


Let me provide clarification here before I sign off. I am NOT a Rajni basher. I have relished watching many of his movies. I liked and even loved his style and I do accept he that he is among top rung of actors in South Indian cinema. But Rajni certainly doesn’t deserve this much attention and fanfare and certainly cannot be regarded as the best actor of our times. Yes he may be one of the best but nowhere close to being the best, either professionally or personally.

P.S. Now all the above might and probably will apply to many actors in India. But I have intentionally narrowed down the scope to Rajnikanth, the ‘super star’...:)

11 comments:

Kram said...

:) this comedy is only around snakes and ghost?! :) u must watch thillu mullu :P u know what a comedian in him.. acting?!! r u kidding me.. :) dude recent past directors are not giving him character roles, watch is 80's and 90's movies :P demi-god status is given by every individual so i won't comment on that :)

Unknown said...

@Thiru...if he wanted...any role will be given to him on a platter..but he chooses to act only in some type of roles...also i have mentioned that in the past 1decade he has been acting like this..it is true that in his earlier days..he tried character roles...

Yogu said...

wuff!!!Whats the point ur trying to prove here palani..

For me Rajni is better all other actors in his period.So called super actors either over acts or super acts.:)

Btw i knew a number of ppl who loves his dialogue delivery.Boss thats his style..

Coming to his comedy tracks,all i can his that either u havent watched all his movies in d last decade or u have poor humour sense...ppl reject poor comedy tracks right away,its not easy to get away with montonous comedy tracks for one decade as u have mentioned.

‘more the girls stay in the house, the better while it is the reverse for the boys’-Accepted. but Rajini s the same person who said Y do u search for god when u have ur mother.y dint u mention that.

Regarding Bal Thackeray issue,i can say oly thing.i jus saw the video whr he was saying he is first a indian then oly marathi,kannada or tamil.Might be he cud have told he has more respect on thackeray becoz of his age and its all media twist.

ppl like him as a person nt oly becoz his style but for his simplicity.

when ppl like u n me r gettin branded wear n shoes and being the second highest paid actor in asia he chooses to live a simple life.

Palani its very hard to be modest when u r gettin this much hype n whole world is talking u.I love rajini oly becoz of that.

I respect ur view abt rajini.Well for you he doesnt deserve this stardom n fanfare but the fact is Rajni doesnt take all these hype to his head and thats y he is the unbeatable superstar of indian cinema.

No hard feeling bro ..oly thing which comes into my mind is a tamil proverb.

"Sooriyan parthu naai koracha,adhu naaiku taan nastham ,sooriyanukku illa"

Hope u take it in d right sense..cheers:)

Unknown said...

@yogu...thanks for the response...

-> reg his comedy tracks...its out there for everyone to see...

->if he says he indian first and then only he takes his regional identity..why is he even visting a man who rejects indianess of our citizens...this is the same man who led the anti - tamil agitation/ riots back in the 1960s and refers to tamil by the derogatory name of 'madrasis'

-> reg the controversy about girls going out..point taken that he respects women as mothers and that he has huge respect for them..but the real issue here is about he preaching one thing and practicing another...

oh...this guy is barely the sun...and even if he his...no dog would even bother barking at him..

Kram said...

er.. you have barked at him palani :) his life had so much that u could write a blog about him :) as they say "they throw stones at the tree which bears the fruit" :) cheers mate! :)

Unknown said...

@thiru...barking is a word that is usually reserved for unfair and outrageous criticism of someone..any one who reads this write up will agree that i have, to a large extent, qualified my comments about Rajni...and if such qualified comments/criticism is denoted as barking then so be it..

Yogu said...

Bro u have jus put up the negative pts and claim that u have he doesnt deserve this much..

Jus give a thought,why didnt any actor didn get these much hype n fan following??u ll get the answer..the prob wid rajini ppl magnify even small issues if it's rajini..

Being Rajni is really difficult.

FYKI he doesnt preach anything.If u find he s preaching something,then he preaches much more good things than that u r unaware or forgotten to mention.



Is he really good for the hype n fanfare?

Answer:YES and i bet no other actor in india can take this much hype n stand still

Unknown said...

will any one in the world admire when any actor just walks???
the entire world admires when rajni just walks .
there is a clear difference between rajni and other actors. he is the brand and there are no copies of it.
if its copied, we all know the result.
he has the magnetic power.u have to acknowledge it.

Unknown said...

@all..agreed that world comes to a standstill when this man walks( and what else i dont know)...but rajni is an 1 dimensional player..he is not as adept as others(e.g. Kamal) in character roles...

Unknown said...

Well analyzed and well written article! I like Rajini's style and enjoy his movies but I too share the same opinion on him as Ramanathan does. There is too much of fan / media following and godly treatment which he doesn't deserve. And if you talk about the previous decade, most of Rajini's old hits like Velaikaran, Basha, Panakaran,Thillu mullu, Billa, Maveeran were all remade out of other languages mostly out of Amitabh's. I believe that is why Rajini has great respect for Amithabh.

Unknown said...

@venki...well said...